Our Board:

Elizabeth Fabbroni Martin, President
emartin@hamiltonreads.ca

Morgan Stanek, Vice-President
mstanek@hamiltonreads.ca

Marco Medeiros, Treasurer
mmedeiros@hamiltonreads.ca

Martin Farrugia, Secretary
mfarrugia@hamiltonreads.ca

Arslan Kashif, Advisor
akashif@hamiltonreads.ca

David Ragona, Advisor
dragona@hamiltonreads.ca

Sashaina Singh, Advisor
ssingh@hamiltonreads.ca

Dorte Deans, Advisor
ddeans@hamiltonreads.ca

 

Strategic Direction

HLC Mission Statement & Vision 2018

HLC Values Statement 2017

Strategic Goals

Hamilton Reads Award

The Hamilton Reads Award Description

Hamilton Reads Award Nomination Form

HLC Board Member – Position Description

  • Attend 9 meetings per year. Meetings are held on the last Wednesday evening of the month, generally from 6:15 to 8:30 (no meetings are held in July, August or December ).
  • Come to meetings prepared (review agenda and supporting materials), and actively participate in the meetings.
  • Be knowledgeable about the HLC – its mission, strategic plan, programs, policies, operations, finances, challenges and opportunities. Training for new members will be provided.
  • Understand the boundaries of your role as a board advisor and that of the Executive Director and staff.
  • Follow all conflict of interest and confidentiality policies of the HLC.
  • Volunteer on subcommittee(s) for strategic planning activities, marketing and fundraising.
  • Attend annual promotional events such as “Telling Tales Festival”
  • Participate in non-governance responsibilities such as social and other functions sponsored by the HLC when your schedule allows.
  • Promote/communicate with others about the work of the organization, and show your support for the organization when talking with others.
  • Get to know other board members and build a collegial working relationship that contributes to consensus.
  • Be an active participant in the board’s annual evaluation and planning efforts. Provide feedback to board chair for Executive Director’s annual review.
  • Review and approve regularly the compensation and benefits package for the Executive Director.
  • Participate in the active recruitment, selection and orientation of new board members. Help to identify and cultivate new leaders on the board.
  • Pay annual HLC membership fee of $15.
  • Commit to a minimum of 2 years (maximum four 2-year terms).